Top Shelf Aquatics

15 Gallon marine tank.

frostiex

Hi all I have been keeping a couple fresh water aquarium for over 6 years. I recently upgraded one of my 15 gallon to a 33 gallon. and since my son is really into nemo so I am thinking about starting a marine tank with the 15 gallon. I am wondering how to start off?

I have some sand and stuff, a powerhead filter and a aquaclear 200 from before, is this enough for filtration?

Would it be ok to use tap water from a water softener?

I have been thinking about starting a marine aquarium for a long time. and now it is just more motivating to start the marine since my son is staring to really like fishes. (he looks at my fresh water aquariums all the time)

any help would be great.

thanks,

Frostiex

go to the information link at the top of this page and click on it. it'll lead you to the basic information you need.

the actual filtering is done by live rock which you add to your tank. the ac200 w/o the media (except for the occasional use of carbon) will be fine for flow along with the powerhead.

as for the tapwater, no. distilled is cheap at the local supermarket and should be used.

a 15 gallon is just fine for a clownfish and another small peaceful species.

HTH

aqua_aaron

Please read up on marine tanks before attempting this. I read books and on-line articles for 6 months before starting my first marine tank. Julian Sprung is a good author. A good starting book is "The Conscientious Marine Aquarium" (different author, don't remember name.) Below are the basics (equipment) for a 15 gallon tank.

1. 20-30 lbs live sand (Arag-Alive would be fine - try Petco)

2. 20 lbs live rock

3. AC 200 is fine

4. 30 - 70 gph powerhead

5. 75 watt heater with guard

6. Use water purified by reverse osmosis or distilled water.

7. Salt mix.

8. Swing arm hydrometer or, preferable, refractometer - to measure salinity/specific gravity.

9. Test kits to measure ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, high range pH and alkalinity.