Coral Vue Hydros

Newbie here! Got questions as usual

fastredponycar

fastredponycar

What's up guys. I've got a 29 gal aquarium and looking to get into the salt water thing. I've had this and a few other smaller quariums for about 3 years breeding variuous types of fish (mainly african cichlids) but after 3 years, it's getting old and I want something that will really wow people when they walk in my living room. Please bear with this long post as I have a lot of questions and want to do things right the first time instead of learning from mistakes. I made several mistakes with the freshwater setups but these saltwater tanks are expensive!

First off, what excatly is a nano reef aquarium?? I'm assuming it is referring to the small size of the quariums?

So anyways, I went to our local pet store who overcharges for saltwater stuff since they're the only dealer spanning 100 miles of where I live. I bought a big bag of crushed coral to line the bottom of the tank with as well as about 9 lbs of cured Fiji rock and a few small pieces of coral along with a "Coralife" brand 10,000 K flourescent bulb.

Here's where my questoins come into play because the women at the fish store tried to answer my questions by showing me expensive stuff that common sense told me I didn't need.

First question: I got my tank at walmart. It came with a filter that hangs over the back of the tank and has twin blue material with carbon inside type filters. I also have a handfull of bio balls from my freshwater setup that I've kept in the back of the filter. Is this filter going to be adequate for this size tank? It worked for the fresh water setup.