Pod Your Reef

Better to by premixed salt water or mix own

agoerl

I am still kind of new to this and am ready to start up my tank and I was wondering if it is better to buy premixed salt water form a lfs or is it better to buy bottled water and instant ocean salt and mix my own. I only save about 2 dollars by mixing my own and the premixed water at the lfs is going for about 9 dollars for 5 gallons (I think that was the price) and my nano is a 5.5 gallon. I thought that it was worth buying the premixed because it would save me the trouble of mixing my own and I have never done it befor, I have only had fresh water fish so far. I just wanted to see what other people are doing and if anyone had any advice. I also wanted to see if anyone has any bad experianced with premixed water before.

I mix my own and even if I didn't, no one around me sells it. It isn't that hard to throw some water in a bucket and add salt till it's the right salinty. Also, one tip, I wouldn't use Instant Ocean. That's what I started my tank with and it isn't as good as something like Reef Crystals. The instant ocean doesn't contain trace elements. Right now I'm waiting for the tank to completely cycle and then I'll start changing the water with Reef Crystals water.

Originally posted by caja

Wow, that's pretty darned expensive for premixed sw. I pay $1.19 a gallon here. I'd be mixing my own if I had to pay what your LFS is asking for premixed.

man, you guys are getting hammered on water

I pay 39 cents. At one membership place it goes on sale to 19 cents once a month.