Innovative Marine Aquariums

SPS heavy tank, chemi-pure,phosban?also sps feeding? Salt?

thatoneazn

Hey guys,

I will be running a nice 29 gallon sps tank, i already use ro/di water, have chaeto, and i am getting my deltec skimmer soon. Any of you sps keepers have any suggestions on what to keep...so my water is clear and my sps thrive(was thinking chemipure elite)? Also, feeding sps is tricky(i want nice polyp extensions) what do you guys use, and do you leave pumps on or off.Also, what type of salt do you guys use, i am currently using IO- Reef crystals? Thanks...

Im kinda new to SPS keeping, but havent had an tragic failures. I only have one or two picky corals im working on as far as coloration.

I use generic carbon, GFO, and reef crystals salt mix.

As for food i use Roti-Feast and Oyster Eggs from Reef-Nutrition. I leave my pumps on.

I use chemi-pure elite and DD H2Ocean salt. I feed Rods Food and leave the pumps on but turn the skimmer off for a while when I feed it.

For nutrient export a skimmer is a good idea. If anything, because it vastly helps with gas exhange. Skimmers are especially useful with bigger tanks because large volume water changes are less practical.

If you're using good R/O and aren't feeding your fish tons of nasty frozen food loaded with garbage then phosphate control shouldn't be an issue.

Again, when in doubt I look at the insanse SPS tanks my friends and reef shops have, and see common factors. Low fish bio-load, high water flow, intense lighting, good mix water, consistent water changes (not necessarily high volume ones), and high calc/mag/trace dosing, either with a reactor or two part. Feeding doesn't seem mandatory and nobody runs chemi-pure or AC.