Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

2.5 gallon help

brycenewfish

brycenewfish

Hi... I am very new to nano reefing and saltwater fish tanks all together. I would like to start up a 2.5 gallon nano reef. I currently am purchasing 3 pounds of live rock. And I will probably purchase some crushed coral for the substrate. Now... I know the live rock will do a good job on filtering but I was wondering what other type of filtering I should have? Right now I have an AquaClear 150 power filter... Is this good enough? What exactly is a fuge? Protein skimmers are out of the question? What about some cheap lighting? I have been reading a lot about actinic bulbs. Now I can make stuff myself too but I hope to keep it cheap... Please help me out.

ninhsavestheday

dont use crushed coral. they will trap nitrate and then cause problems.

when you use the ac 150 remove all the media and use it just for current. you dont need a protein skimmer because weekly water changes will be enough to replenish the quality of the water.

With a fuge it will benefit your system in many ways. It provide extra volume, the macro alage that you put inside the fuge will keep the nitrate low, you can hide your heater/skimmer there, etc.

with a 2.5 go with 2 13w 10k 50/50.

Hello newb nano reefer! :)