Pod Your Reef

JBJ Nano Cube

jasnhrp

I am a newbie to saltwater aquariums. I have been studying everything I can get hold of for the last few weeks. I think I have decided on getting the JBJ 12 gallon Nano Cube. To begin, I just want to go with live rock, live sand, 2 false percs, and a cleanup crew. Am I correct in stating that the JBJ comes with all equipment necessary with the exception of a heater?

A few basic questions that I have:

Is 12 pounds of live rock enough?

How much live sand do I need?

When I first get the Cube what should I put in for the cycle?

My local fish store has fully cured rock for $6.95. Is this a good price?

It will probably be a month or two before I purchase anything so any advice that you can give me will be much appreciated.

Jason

I'd use 15 lbs of live rock and 20 lbs of live sand (or enough sand to get about an 1.5-2 inch sand bed). Put the sand and the rock in the tank (with saltwater :) ) and let it sit for about a month. You'll know when your cycle is done by testing the water - ammonia, nitrite will all be 0. The cleaner the rock (the more it has already been "precured") the quicker the cycle. Do NOT add the fish until the cycle is complete. 6.95 a lb from a LFS is about average in my area (Long Island). You can get really nice rock on-line at Gulf-view.com and a few other places (check google and the boards.) Before you do anything you really should read more. Research now will save you a lot of aggravation and money in the future.

Oh yeah... I don't know first hand, but A LOT of people have said that the JBJ cubes are a POS. At the very least you'll need to remove the filter media/bioballs and put live rock rubble or chemi-pure back there. The lighting is only adequate for fish,inverts and low light corals like xenia and mushrooms.

As an owner of the JBJ cube, I agree.