Top Shelf Aquatics

Alk and Ph

cmlewand

Hey guys I am kind of new to this hobby and was wondering if anybody could help me out. I have a 34g solana and it has been running for about a month and a half and has fully cycled. I have been trying to get my pH up to 8.2 or 8.3 and cant do it. I have been adding seachem marine buffer and cant get it to come up. It comes up during the day to about 8.15 and then at night it goes back down to 7.97 during the night and wont come back up during the day until i add buffer. And because of this my alk has gone up to 13dKh. Any suggestions. Thanks.

You need life. Don't worry too much with the ph at first. Need to get the tank going before worrying. A brand new tank should need no other chemicals except a quality salt.

Hmmm... TDS could be high depending on dieoff. Personally I usually do a large water change before I put fish or coral in just to reduce stress. I use this on most of my freshly cycled tanks usually at about 5 to 7 weeks. I am getting ready to do the first WC on my new nem tank. Don't concern to much unless you are planning on throwning some harder to keep coral in, zoas and shrooms should do fine.

Amphiprion1

The first thing you should do is stop using buffers. They are a poor way to control pH, since they are very temporary. The best ways to keep it raised are through photosynthesis (refugium helps with this), added aeration (highly dependent on CO2 concentrations in the surrounding air), and kalkwasser (must be careful, since this solution has an extremely high pH and must be dripped slowly). Out of all of these, I would try the first two before anything else. Kalkwasser is great, but as I said, you must be careful or you'll overshoot the pH. A little goes a long way and the effects are long-lasting. It also adds equivalent amounts of calcium and alkalinity, and is therefore a balanced additive.