Coral Vue Hydros

actinics???

aqua_aaron

I don't think actinics are required for any corals. Most people like the bluer white better than the yellower white colors emitted by lower K bulbs. The also make the corals flouresce, but again, I think that is for human enjoyment rather than necessity.

bgoode please please please please please please please please please please please please please don't give out advice unless you are sure you are knowledgable about a subject.

"Blue" light is suggested to have some extremely beneficial properties - it has been noted to increase rates of protein synthesis in some algae, as well as cause shifts in photosynthetic pigment concentrations in zooxanthellae. Blue light has also been reported to increase rates of photosynthesis (Kinzie and Hunter, 1987).

Now I'm no expert in the matter, but have led to believe that one of our goals in setting up a successful nano is to try and duplicate nature. So the actinics are meant to simulate the bluer light that the corals actually get in their natural environment, that being due to the water and depth. So I would think that the uv and color are really beneficial to the coral...not just for human enjoyment of the florescent effect it seems to bring out in the corals.

I'm wondering what would the effect of an all actinic light source be? Has anyone tried it? I know it would be a bit dark but would it be beneficial in some way?

Although I am nowhere near a lighting expert, here's my .02. In laymans terms...