Innovative Marine Aquariums

Best Nano Protein Skimmer?

reefer916

I was thinking about adding a protein skimmer to my 24 gallon Aquapod that I've had for a year now. It's a mixed reef with SPS, LPS, zoa's, and paly's. I know I over feed my tank and that's why I do daily 1-2 gallon water changes and a larger water change once a week. My water quality is great with stable params, but I want to cutback on my water changes to at most 2 a week.

I have a protein skimmer in my 95 gallon and am familiar with how they work, but I haven't done any research on the nano's. What are your experiences with the different skimmers? I appreciate any of your experiences.

Thanks,

Chris

thadscottmoore
I have heard nothing but good things about the aquaticlife internal mini skimmer 115. I have no personal experience with it though.

I have the aquaticlife mini skimmer- it rocks!!!

I have the aquaticlife mini skimmer- it rocks!!!

i hate mine =(

the slurping is annoying and the micro bubbles just killed it for me...

had to do a bunch of mods to get it "working"

for the money i would just get something else.

hang on the back stuff is the way to go if u want a good skimmer.

thadscottmoore
i hate mine =(

the slurping is annoying and the micro bubbles just killed it for me...

had to do a bunch of mods to get it "working"

for the money i would just get something else.

hang on the back stuff is the way to go if u want a good skimmer.

haha, you havent heard slopping noise to you hear the stock skimmer for the RSM.- that air line and mixing chamber can make some noise! The Aquaticlife is far more quiet than that one. It took some tuning, but- it seems all skimmers take some tuning and break in period. I have my skimmer in a sump with bubble traps- so, micro-bubbles are not a concern to me.

I'll check it out..

Have you heard about the Tunze nano skimmer? Is it worth the $160?