Coral Vue Hydros

Carbon Filter for Mighty-Mite RO/DI Unit

skh

I've been using a mighty-mite RO/DI system for the past 3 years and I really like it. The only thing is that the in-line carbon filter for "taste and odor reduction" keeps getting clogged after about 10 months of use even though all the other filters chug along with no problems.

So, is the carbon filter necessary? My tap water is only at ~20 TDS straight out of the tap and I have a sediment pre-filter before the RO membrane and the DI right after. Is it fine to run this as a 3-stage system without the initial carbon stage? I'm only using the water for the tank, I'm not drinking it.

If the carbon statge is BETWEEN the sediment and membrane, then YES you need it! Sediment filters won't catch 100% of when the carbon filter usually finishes off. ANY particles that get to the membrane will quickly clog it and require you to prematurely need to get a new one. FAR more expensive than just replacing the carbon filter yearly. Figure $12 for a carbon filter verses $50 for a membrane...

weird how the sediment filter isnt catching everything before it goes to the carbon. how many micron cotton filter are you using in the sediment filter?

You should be changing your filters at 6 month intervals.

The carbon needs to be after the prefilter and before the RO membrane. It is there to adsorb chlorine so it does not damage the membrane.\

I suspect you are using low end prefilters in high micron ratiings that are allowing particulates to pass through and clog the pores in the carbon rendering it useless.

This may have already lead to membrane damage, a TDS meter will tell you the whole story. Take TDS readings from tap water, RO only water and final RO/DI water to see how the systems is working. If the RO only is say 10% of the tap water TDS then the membrane is probably in need of replacement and is relying on the DI to do the job it should be performing.