Cultivated Reef

10 gallon nano questions

crazygirl

Hi all-

I am just starting out in the wonderful world of nano-reefs and have questions! :) I am planning on converting (or buying a new) 10 gallon tank and was wondering what the best lighting options might be. I can not hang lights from the ceiling as I rent, so if I could do something in the hood itself that would be great.

To be honest, I'm not sure what type of coral, etc. that I want to keep as I need to do more research on these but I would like to match them to the lighting so I don't have any deaths due to that.

I had also read that you can cycle a new tank with the live sand/rock, so was wondering if anyone else had done this before and what their outcome or experiences were.

One last strange question- Has anyone ever moved a saltwater tank before? I have been told if I am planning on having a saltwater tank and moving in the future to be prepared to sell everything off and start over.... this just doesn't seem right or logical to me...

Thanks in advance and sorry for all the questions!

min