ReefCleaners.org

Heater for 5 1/2 gallon

GobyMan

I have never used a heater on a 5 1/2 reef before but am now thinking about it. The reason being when I wake up in the morning, the tank temp (due to A/C and no lights during the night) seems to drop to about 74 degrees. When the lights come on, the temp rises during the day to 80. I think this also has to do with the fact that the A/C just doesn't cool the house as well as it does during the evening (espec with the 90 degree + weather we have been having).

So, I was thinking of adding a heater, but was wondering if I kept the tank at 80 degrees through the night, would it them rise during the day those same 6 or so degrees?

As far as heaters go, which brands/wattage should I be looking at. I was thinking 25 watts, but there doesn't seem to be many out there.

Thanks.

I use a 50 watt Hagen Thermal Compact heater in my Aquaclear 200 on my 5 1/2. It was a little hard to adjust in the beginning but once I got it set it's worked great. It's set to keep the tank at 79-80. The Visi Therm 50 watt heaters are also small.

As for the temp swing, 5 gallon is such a small mass of water it heats and cool very fast. I don't think it would rise those same degrees but you'd have to try it and see!

The problem with ebo jager heaters is that they are HUGE. I'm running a 100 watt in my 20 and I got a 50 watt thinking I would try it in the 5. NO way it's too big for such a small tank. I wish they would make a compact unit!

Lizbeth,

Are you running the Aquaclear as a filter with some kind of media or are you just using it kind of like a sump? I was toying with the idea of adding something small like that to change the flow around a bit and to use as a small sump to put a heater in, etc...

All I have right now is my little Rio powerhead in the tank and even that looks huge!

Thanks