Pod Your Reef

Pico tank advice

Reefy Magreefy

Reefy Magreefy

Hey, I am new to nano reefing, and I was wondering if this was a good stocklist for a 1.75 gallon pico tank...

3 sexy shrimp

2 nassarious snails

1 astrea snail

gsp

1 pom pom crab

and what heater and lights should I get? I have a maxi jet mini for flow.

You need more herbivorous snails than scavengers like the nassarius, especially since there isn't any fish to feed (feeding the nassarius). Ideally, bristle worms would be enough for scavenging. If you can get cerith snails, they would be better choices (and smaller) than astraeas. Collonista and stomatella snails are other good herbivore choices.

The sexy shrimp should be fed to avoid them nipping on corals.

For lights, a small power compact fluorescent fixture, like the coralife miniaqualight, would be perfect for GSP.

Reefy Magreefy

I have base rock mostly, so no bristles

so maybe 2 astrea, 1 nassarious, 3 sexys? I'll replace the astrea with cerith if I can find em.

and why no pom pom?

I am planning on feeding them pellets.

Also, any miscellaneous advice on how to take care of a tank like this one? Like I said this is my first pico/nano.

There is a pico forum here with better information on keeping a pico. Also there is a thread on pom pom crabs (something like "official pom pom crab thread...").

Reefy: Pico's are my ballpark ;)

+1 to the other responses above as well... I personally would not go with 3 sexy shrimp, and I think you would do better with stometella snails than anything...

Pom Pom would do fine in a 1.75g but just know that it will require some special attention. You can view some of my other posts on picos, as well as brandon49 and mikeguegro (<---- spelling? I will check that last one in a minute)