Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Coral under LED vs Metal Halides

The Veg

Hello everyone!!!

I have been visiting nano-reef for a few months now and figured I should finally post something. Right now I have a Cadlights 22 with the 4x24W T-5 fixture. This light is pretty good but I want to upgrade to either metal halide or LEDs. I am not worried about cost so much as I am worried about effect the light with have on the coloration of my coral. I do have some SPS and plan to get more in the future. I do like the idea of a DIY LED fixture. Has anyone switched to LEDs and had some bad results with corals losing their color or turning brown?

Pete

This doesn't apply to your question, but I have seen brown corals in straight blue LEDs that had a very very light green color and they looked neon green. So anything under LEDs looks good :D

I have found so far that water parameters need to be kept up on much more with LEDs than with other light sources. It wasn't until I started dosing that I noticed better coloration from my sps, even though the growth was fine. El Fabuloso also doses regularly on his pico and the results speak for themselves. Also talk with Sherman. He has been doing lots of LED work on his larger tanks and has posted lots of pictures of his corals looking great.

I guess my main concern is that I have heard of people's coral losing color after switching to LEDs.

But corals losing color can be due to a number of things, including too much light (LEDs are very powerful), and impropper water parameters. I'm pushing a year with LEDs over my 4g (two years total with the tank), and most of my corals look just as god as under MH. I have a few mushrooms that could stand being in lower light and are looking a little paler, but they do ok. Everything else is fine.

Evil what are you dosing?

Kents Nano Part A and B