Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Help! coral Banded Shrimp Dead?

nanonewbies

I went to work this morning and everything was fine, now I come home and my coral banded shrimp is laying on its side in the sand - and it hasn't moved for 20 minutes, I saw a hermit crab near by and it looked as though it was attacking it? Seemed unlikely..maybe it was cleaning it? Do they do that? Do Shrimp sit still for that? Most importantly if it is dead - is it really important that I get it out, or should I let it dissolve into the environment? I am new to all this so any help, advice, ideas, suggestions, would be appreciated!

On a positive note - everything else in the tank seems fine - in fact some of my corals seemed to have doubled in size, that may not have anything to do with the shrimp though?

Thanks!:blush:

If it is a molt ,It is very pale and thin. I have only thought it was the shrimp dead, the first time, for about 3 secods. Yuo should be able to see his antannae. Feed the tank, see if he comes out.

So is there any dead give away so I can know for sure? It does look pale and thin, however, everything is still there, its antennae, pinchers, legs, etc. So I am just having a really hard time telling if it is a molt or just dead.

you cant see if the CBS is in there. try to pick it up dOOd. if it moves its alive. if it doesnt its dead. if its paper thin its a molt. Cmon, when you get to go into Hands on mode, it is half the fun of reefing! :P

Since when did you corals double in size? In the last day? And as far as the shrimp goes, if you pick it up and it doesnt move, it doesnt really matter weather its a molt or dead . . not worth leaving in there. If it is dead and you let it decay in there you're just asking for problems.

How long have you had those corals in there and what type are they? Tank specs?

d.

ok I yanked it out last night - felt pretty thick and fleshy in there still....probably dead I think. I wonder why.