Cultivated Reef

Wiring a buckpuck to Arduino

NightAtTheOpera

NightAtTheOpera

I've already hit a snag in my LED moon phase build. I have no problem with writing the sketch for the Arduino because I'm a software developer but when it comes to putting electronic parts together I'm a total dope. I've googled and googled but can't find the answers so I'm hoping (nix that; praying!) someone here can help me.

As far as I can tell a dimmable buckpuck is connected as follows:

VIN + and - to power supply.

LED + and - to LEDs.

CTL to digital pin on Arduino (i.e. pin 9)

REF goes to I have no idea where. Can anyone tell me where this wire would go, if anywhere?

Also, I'm going to be connecting a DS1307 Real Time Clock to the Arduino. The RTC I'm going to get is from sparkfun electronics; it's already soldered to a breakout board. I know what pins to connect it to on the Arduino but I'm not sure how to connect the wire to the breakout board. Do I just solder the wire into the holes? Here's a link to the DS1307:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_i...?products_id=99

Any help/ideas are appreciated!

haha i'm right there with you, I actually just ordered the rtc from sparkfun, as well as an lcd screen, and a temperature sensor and I am trying to do the exact same thing! sorry I can't be of any help, i understand most of the programming, but I am well under qualified when it comes to electronics and wiring. i will be keeping an eye on this

NightAtTheOpera

You're one step ahead of me; I haven't ordered anything yet since I want to feel pretty confident I can actually do it before spending $$.

Hopefully Evil or one of the other electronics/LED gurus will swoop in and save us.

Vancouver Reefer

Ok Guys:

Looking at the Buckpuck datasheet this is what they suggest. It was the way i was going to use before i made my own drivers:

4088322554_9d27bd434a_o.jpg

You just connect the Arduino to the logic input and use a pwm output pin on the Arduino.