Coral Vue Hydros

Newbie Questions about converting to SW

tcm080

Ok, First post, so excuse my ignorance please..

Alright, I have a lot of experience with african cichlids, and FW tanks, and am looking at setting up a nano-reef, and adapting what corals/fish I keep to my setup.

From my research, i have some questions

1. Would i do better to buy a JBJ nano-cube or go with a standard tank, (say 10 or 15 gal, already own), use some extra filters I have (I was thinking 2 whispers + powerhead), and dump my money into a lighting system? Looking to spend roughly $150-200 on equipment...LFS is running a "special" on nanocubes (150 for tank, sand, hydrometer, heater)

2. Equipment - will using my syphon and buckets on a saltwater tank possibly screw up my FW tanks?

3. How much more work is SW than FW? I already do 25% water changes every 2 weeks, cleaning, and other stuff (probably 2-3 hrs/2 weeks minimum) As my FW tanks are well established, I do not test anymore....I understand that the salt content of the water must be tested frequently (1 time per week?), but beyond testing for salt and standard cleaning, is there anything more once the tank is cycled in?

4. I've read that people only do water changes using RO water from their LFS, Is this a necessity? or is it possible to use a mix and get the same results considering how fragile a nano-reef is?

Sorry about the length,

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated

Tom

1. yes, don't skimp on the lights. you can basically setup a reef in a mason jar (watch your bioload and flow rate :P ) as long as the correct lighting is employed. ever use any copper meds tho? ???

2. i don't think you'd have a problem SW to FW but you may have some issues FW to SW. mainly copper and impurities issues, higher standards are required. you shouldn't need to ever vacuum a SW btw. wc's via air tubing (one higher and one lower) is the safest method imo.