Pod Your Reef

Cycling Live rock, Foul smelling water!

ryz

:( I have recently set up my saltwater tank and bought my 1st live rock on the second day. It was not cured so I removed any dead matter that was visible and let it run for another two days before I got 5 kg more of CURED Live rock(at least thats what the LFS claimed). I trusted the LFS as I thought it was quite an established one. I know there would be some die off from my live rock even if it is cured, but is it supposed to stink up my water? OMG! The day after, I took out my supposedly cured live rock and smelled them, they were stinking! what is happenning? Now my water is stinking and even 50% water changes do not seem to help the situation. I was thinking of getting ammonia remover. What should I do? I have a protein skimmer running. How can I improve the water quality in as little time as possible? PLease advice.

concerned newbie:*(

im just starting out, so i cant really advise what to do - but my live rock smells like the ocean and so far have not had any bad smell. All my rock is uncured - im thinking to remove some of the dead waste too. Was this a recomended step that you took???

Yes it is reccomeded that you remove any visible accessible dead matter so that they dun contribute to the ammonia build up in your tank that might take a while to clear. When your water starts smelling, the ammonia level is high.

By the way how big is your tank?

how much live rock do you have in it?

How long have you been having them in there cycling?

If your live rocks don't stink and there is little or no die off in your tank, I think it should be fine. Just remove any dead matter as soon as you see it.

By the way how big is your tank?

how much live rock do you have in it?

How long have you been having them in there cycling?