Pod Your Reef

Would a refugium be good for me?

Darold

I am a college student who has very little room to work with in my dorm. I have a 20g tank with an Emperor 280 mechanical filter, Sea Clone 100, and a heater in the tank now. I would love to get a HOB refugium, like the CPR Aquafuge but am not sue if it would fit. I also wouldn't mind a sump if it was possible with my setup. I am mainly concerned with hiding the heater and filters + getting the benifits of the extra volume. I have also heard about possible adding a DSB and live rock to the sump/refugium. I have heard many pro's, but is this possible/helpfull for my needs? I do not mind spending the extra money if it is worth it. I have no need to grow copepods or anthropods yet, but will later when I decide to move on to corals. My main concern is with plumbing. I did not get a pre-drilled aquarium and am wondering if a sump is even possible. Also, my hood has very little room in the back. The precut hole barely fits my skimmer, and some sllight modification had to be made to fit my filter. Any advice/ideas/or other solutions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for you time helping a newbie.

is it a 20 H or a 20 L?

www.cprusa.com

You'll end up ditching the hood when you do some reading about lighting here.

The tank can be drilled for a sump no problem, search the DIY thread, there are at least 3 recent drilling threads, If not, take it somewhere locally, but be sure you have flow rates worked out first so your holes aren't too small or large. If you don't want a drill you can get a HOB overflow on the same site above. Trust me, tha hood will be a thing of the past . try www.hellolights.com or www.championlighting.com or www.marinedepot.com

Also, your sump can act as a refugium, just be sure you figure out how to do that before you buy the sump. PLAN IT OUT, I cannot stress this enough..

Welcome To N.R.