Innovative Marine Aquariums

Nitrites in fish store "RO" water (maybe a repost)

NoChikenStrips

NoChikenStrips

Hello guys/gals

This is my second post and i am curious. I've just tested my water after 7 days and everything looks good in my new tank... But what bugs me is this; i got bored and tested my fish store's RO water. It's showing nitrites at 1.0ppm and nitrates at 10ppm(all with API saltwater kit). Is this right? It cost 30cents a gallon but is a cheaper alternative to buying a RO/DI system. This could be a stupid question but what are your opinions. I've used the "search" and didn't find anything related.

I'm still a noob at this so thanks in advance guys!

are they selling you fresh water or just water from their tanks, ive read alot that fish stores have sold, used water and even water with 1.017 water to them or lower i dont remember the exact number that is why i will always make it myself, cheaper too, just more work.

Ideally the R/O water you get should read zero for nitrate, nitrite, ammonia and phosphate and have a very low TDS reading. I found that most LFS RO water is not the best option, I started going to a local drinking water store and found the water to be much better and generally cheaper. The reason for this I think is that the LFS doesn't replace the RO filters when necessary, where as a drinking water store is more prone to be on top of their water. I just recently purchased a TDS meter and am in the process of proving my theory.

NEVER trust LFS RO water, not matter what LFS it's from. If you do use LFS RO water, ALWAYS TDS test it first and make sure it's at 0 or at least no higher than 5! I have yet to encounter any LFS where I live that sold RO water that tested below 60TDS, one even was selling 300 TDS water... :scarry: