SaltCritters.com

Newbie here .....I know you all love newbies !

jeffsvt

Well I'm a newbie here when it comes to posting but I've been lurking awhile ! Well anyways I finally took the plunge and decided to set up a nano ! I've got an old 5 gal tank I'm using and today I started setting it up .

Today I went to the local LFS store and bought a mini-jet MN606 , 32Watt Smartlite retrofit 10K daylight and actinic , some sand and salt ! I got it all running ! I opted to buy sand instead of live sand and holy cow what a dust storm ! Hopefully this will settle down very soon . How deep of a sandbed should I try to get with a 5 gal ? I'm getting a local person to build me a mini hang on the back refugium for it ! Anyone have pics of theirs ? And also is it a good idea ? I'm not going to run a bio-wheel .

The only thing I forgot to do was get a heater so off to petsmart I go since my LFS is closed on Sundays .

Just wanted to say hello and ask a couple questions ! I really enjoyed reading this forum and making an attempt to learn about Nanos ! Here is a picture of my sand and micro-bubble storm

ninhsavestheday

some poeple say yes to dsb. some say no. IMO, i think dsb is the way to go. comon, if you look at the ocean, how deep is their sandbeds? if you have doubts, just research the forum. search for it! theres lots of information about everything on nano.. lurking around.

Originally posted by birdman204

1 inch bed here.  I like the shape of the tank.

Go to www.cprusa.com    or any online vendor should have pics.  I've seen 'em on Ebay as well.

Thanks for the link ! And I love your tank it looks very nice !

How do you have the smartlight installed in the hood? Is there some sort of moisture barrier between the bulb and the tank water? I ask because the smartlight does not have the waterproof endcap that the supernova retrofit has. Keep an eye on the bulb and endcap and make sure it stays dry so you don't end up with a short.

Originally posted by caja