SaltCritters.com

New 2 Reefs

res1bxh3

Hey i am i newbie here i have had freshwater setups for a year already 3 tanks now but i recently bought a 12g nano cube and am going to start a mini reef i want to know everything i already read the articles i want everyones advise and opinions. i want to know what works best for u. my tank has a built in 3 stage filter in the back. i don't know any thing about reefs so any help is greatly appreciated THANKS

i already read the articles - i don't know any thing about reefs ???

Caja's link is a great place to start. I would consider getting rid of some of your freshwater tanks as reefs are more time consuming. Having too many tanks can be overwhelming. So stick with one, and go from there.

OK guys i think i got the basics from what i can see so far i am going to use about 15 lbs of live sand and about 6 lbs of live rock and for the water i will use either marinlands saltmix or get it already mixed from my lfs OK now I'm pretty sure that i kneed the temp at 78 degrees but u guys tell me what u use. i would like to have at lease some clown fish and a cleaner Shrimp and what ever else will fit. can u guys tell if i got good beginning and i would like to know good reefs to start out with. THANKS

Originally posted by res1bxh3

OK guys i think i got the basics from what i can see so far i am going to use about 15 lbs of live sand and about 6 lbs of live rock and for the water i will use either marinlands saltmix or get it already mixed from my lfs OK now I'm pretty sure that i kneed the temp at 78 degrees but u guys tell me what u use. i would like to have at lease some clown fish and a cleaner Shrimp and what ever else will fit. can u guys tell if i got good beginning and i would like to know good reefs to start out with. THANKS

6 lbs isn't a lot of rock, I would get around 15 lbs for a 12g. As far as temp goes, 78* will work. I prefer mine to be a bit warmer than that - mine's kept at 80*.