Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Help with new Aquarium (long)

newnano

I'm very new at this. I've wanted to try my had at saltwater aquariums but was reluctant because I only have room for a 15 gallon tank. Everything I've read mentions not to use anything under 30 gallons, until I found Nano-Reef.com. When I saw 5, 7 and 12 gallon systems there, I was encouraged.

I'm fairly knowledgable in water chemistry and have had freshwater fish for nearly 25 years, so I'm going to give it a try. I'm hoping to have live rock and hopfully 5 maybe 6 fish total in the aquarium. The fish I'm interested in are any combination of the following: Yellowtail Damselfish, Black and White Chromis, Blue Green Reef Chromis and Clownfish.

I have several questions. The first concerns the difference between a reef tank and a saltwater tank. Can some one explain?

The next concerns cycling the tank. I've read of several methods to cycle the tank, i.e. raw shrip and cycling with fish. When I purchased my filter (Skilter 250), substrate, etc. the store owner sold me something called Biozyme. I'm not sure how to use it and not sure what kind of water quality readings I should have after using Biozyme, or when to add fish after using it. Can anyone offer any advice on which cycling method I should use and/or what the water quality readings should be if I use Biozyme. Also when can I add fish.

Lastly, I've also read that there should be some water movement at the top of the tank for gas exchange. I suppose this becomes more critical in smaller tanks since they don't have the surface area that larger tanks have. I supose a power head should be used. Any recommendations?

Thanks so much in advance for the help.Thanks,

Mike

I strongly suggest you head to the articles and read up on reef keeping there. Very informative. http://www.nano-reef.com/articles/