ReefCleaners.org

Introduction and a set up review

Polystigma

Hello all. as you can see, I am new. I have been keeping freshwater aquaria for quite a few years. I had a FO saltwater tank a while back, but I switched it over to FW when my moray took a carpet nap. Anyway, recently, I moved and I sold all of my tanks and rid myself of all my fish. It was a tough time!

Well, I have gone three months with no water in the house. It is killing me! I have been reading and reading about reef tanks for a couple years. I have been seriously considering setting up a reef tank now.

I decided that I want to try my hand at a nano reef. I have some equipment left over and I love DIY lighting. So, here is my design. Please take some time to look it over and give me some ideas. I am not looking to keep fish, and certainly not looking to keep SPS or clams right now.

6g Eclipse System 6 (filtration and stock lighting removed)

Eheim ProII 2026 canister filter (250gph, probably less in practice, empty of all media and media baskets)

SCWD wave making device for water return

2 x 13w Deluxe bright Kits (50/50 bulbs)

Customer Sealife Moon-Lite

12 pounds live sand (probably Tampa Bay Saltwater, they are local)

10 pounds live rock (Tampa Bay Saltwater aquacultured rock. Again, local. And I saw the rock, colorful!)

Again, no fish, maybe some mushroom corals or something.

How does this sound? I searched the forums, and I see there are mixed emotions about the Ecplise tanks. I figured it is worth a try though. Isn't that the spirit of the hobby? Well, within reason, I don't want to murder anything.

Here are some diagrams I put together, showing my design...

Here is the back, showing the tank, filter and SCWD.

eclipsenanoback.jpg

Here is the top, showing the direction of water flow.

eclipsenanotop.jpg