Top Shelf Aquatics

Master Test Kit?/newbie here

Shane Jenkins

Shane Jenkins

I'm a newbie to the reef scene.I've had my 10gal set up for bout 4 months now and its just not thriving. Can anyone out there tell me about a master test kit or any test kits for that matter. I dont have the money to go buy a lot of individual kits(unless I must?)

My problem is everything is alive just not thriving. yes I do a WC every 2 weeks. I'm sure I just need more light and more corals but I'm having to s l o w l y build up my stock. I'm sure this is a silly thread but I need all the help I can get.

1 10w Coralife PC 50/50

Whisper 10

15lbs. LR (not seeded)

10lbs. LS (not seeded)

heater

grounding probe

1 Bi-color Psuedochromis

1 Mex. red-legged Hermit

2 Astrea

1 Toadstool

1 zoo frag (2 polyps when i bought , but has since spawned 1 more polyp so I'm sure things are somewhat ok)

Again sorry about the vaugeness of my thread just not completely sure what to ask. ( Damn Newbies LOL)

Thank you for everyones patience and time. Shane "Arch" Jenkins

Shane Jenkins

oh yeah the only coralline algae i have is on the coral frags and 1 lil piece of rock my friend gave me. if that helps any?

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:blush:

yeah get the test kit, get trate trite amm, pH those are basics, also get KH, Ca, Mg, and im sure im missin others. other than that im not sure what you askin. Is that a 10watt coralife PC on a ten gallon, there is your prob. Not enuff light there son

Shane Jenkins

I'm sure the 10w isnt enough but I cant seem to find any more wattage with the normal bulb base. I'm just tryin to keep from having to drop the money on a ballast and pin setup. Any suggestions?:|