SaltCritters.com

Dying xenia?

zachtos

Hi, I'm new to nano reefing and have a 15gal w/ 22 lbs of LR, 20 lbs of LS, some yellow polyps, hairy mushrooms, pulsing xenia, 2 p. clowns, 150 gph powerhead, AQ500 refugium w/ LR, LS, and grape macro.

*My question is: How do you get your xenia to grow so nicely?

I had 2 stalks of pulsing xenia and they apparently died suddenly, they shrank down and I dont know if they can recover? can they?

**BUT, do you dose chemicals? and how often do you do water changes? are my main questions.

i also have 2-55W PC btw. And my other corals are fine. I have done a 40% partial to see if they can recover to no avail. I would atleast like to know how to prevent this next time. My amonia and nitrite are near 0ppm, ph around 8

this topic is well covered, but try doing a more fequent waterchange.

The caulerpa has toxins in it, and it is slowly suffocating your xenia. I presently am fighting a similar battle ( and looseing baddly) with pieletella(sp) caulerpa and my xenia is withering away to nothingness, but the other corals are doing fine.

Also, there seems to be a symbiotic relationship with leather corals and xenialids doing ewell in the same tank with mushrooms. chances are adding a toadstool, or increasing the waterflow near them will be the route to go. You didn't mention if a skimmer is being used. That also can be a necessity since they are highly productive of muchus.

Well I trimmed back some of my macro algae and that seemed to help. I can't quite afford a skimmer yet.

-Anyways, the xenia seem to be recovering slowly. They are pulsing again but the "frills" are still not as bushy as they used to be.

trimming back them is not a great idea. It leads to "sapping" and potentialy leads to more release of plant's viscus fluids and can have a deletiorus effect on it ( it will go sexual) and THAT sucks.