Innovative Marine Aquariums

Ed's new tank - Minibows rock!

Ed-N

Hi guys,

I'm new to the minibow scene. I used to have a 20 gallon reef but decided to go smaller (more zen and bonsai-ish). Great site you have here!

Please see my other post about the JBJ Nanocube... but that leads me to say I'm so happy I got a Minibow 7!!! Here's my setup:

AGA Minibow 7

CSL 32W SmartRetro 15

Aquaclear 300

Fluval Surface Skimmer

Tronic 50W heater

CoolWorks Ice Probe with controller

12V CPU fan 273-240 (Radioshack)

12 V 500mA Power Adapter 273-1773

Microjet 450

California Reefs Hang-on Evaporation Makeup Switch with Aquaclear 1000

Lifeguard Little Time or Temp

Nature’s Ocean Bio-Active Live Aragonite Reef Sand, 10 lbs

Live Rock, florida aquacultured, 10 lbs.

DIY Moon Lights

4.5V 1600mA AC-to-DC Power Adapter 273-1760

47 Ohm resistors 271-1105 (5 pack)

5mm Blue LED 276-0316

LED holders 276-0080

It's been cycling for a month. I added my clean up crew. What's weird is I think my tank cycled in less than a week!!! I've cycled several tanks (bigger ones) and I'm used to timescales of weeks to months. But with this tank I used what I think was really high quality LR and that live sand and I decided to test once a week, thinking I'd cycle for 1-2 months. I never saw any spikes. I think I missed it in the first week. (Yes, I know, perhaps I should have tested everyday.) I saw a couple of other people see this phenomenon before, right?

Well, I'll get pix soon. Any comments on setup?

Thanks,

Ed

Cliff,

Now that it's October in Maryland, no, the ice probe is not really necessary. However, it does prevent wider fluctuations from the light.

Come next summer, when we open up the windows and it's 80-ish outside, the ice probe will be handy!

PhyshKit.JPG

KwikClip.JPG

SuctionCanister.JPG

TopOffReturn.JPG

The hardware photos are for Physh1 from whom I got the top-off kit. I highly recommend it!

Ed