Pod Your Reef

Starting from nothing...

davefromia

Hi there,

First im an xtreme noob in need of alot of help, Currently I keep a 10 gal freshwater tank with live plants, but once I saw the Saltwater tanks at my local petco(I know prob not the best place)

The colors were simply amazing....anyhow

I was planning on giving my 10 gal to my GF and starting with a 5 gal nano, something i can easily put on my desk at college. Im used to upkeep , even though its not as much on my freshwater, my question is, (Big question) What do i need to get started I know this much so far

5 gal tank, im looking at this one, and would I need to upgrade it? im assuming the lighting is a joke but

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod...d=6&pCatId=7365

From there I need to prepare enough water and get my live sand and live rock. What all do I need to do this besides my tank, any suggestions on that tank would be nice as well

Thanks a ton!

Personally I would go with the 7 gallon minibow because it's much easier to retrofit the 32 watt Custom Sea Life Supernova into the existing hood. The 5 gallon hood may not be long enogh to accomodate that retrofit and you might have a hard time finding upgrade lighting to fit. Dunno, just my opinion.

Have you had a chance to read through the articles on the site? Here's the link to get you started if you haven't.

http://www.nano-reef.com/articles/

You're also going to need test kits for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH, a hydrometer to test your salinity, a heater, PH for extra water movement, and I'm sure theres other things that I'm forgetting, but I'm still on the first cup of coffee. Hehe.

Good luck!

I just put together a "BARE BONES' list for a guy to do a 10g.

Here it is:

10g tank $10

96W PC $100

AC 300 $24

150 Impeller $7

Heater $15

PH $13

Timer $6 (for lights)

DIY GFCI $15

Liverock $20

Deadrock $10

SD Sand $5

Salt $10

Hydrometer $5

Air Pump & Stone for WC Bucket $10

WC Bucket Free (from LFS)

Total = $250