Cultivated Reef

I want to learn more about DSB

mattie

in my 14 years of marine fish I have never done a dsb becouse of the chance of things going bad. But I went 3 inch deep in my fuge with ultra fine size arganite and there is about an inch+ in my 20g with the same stuff.

I have never used fine sand before either. i wanted to get it for goby's so it would not hurt there little gills

but when I tried to siphon out the fine sand bed all the sand started coming out so I was leaving the detrus on the bottom and was just blowing it around every 2 two weeks but after the tank has been up for almost 4 months there was gettin to be so much I tried agian to remove it and tried to limit the flow to limit the amount of sand leaving the tank

I noticed something that I wasn't familiar with

1st there was a crunchy firm layer about 1/2 inch down like a sheet of growth under the sand covering the hole bottom.

then

2nd what freeked me out was the aquarium has no real smell but the water I was siphoning out had a strong smell of rotten eggs like sulfur I have never come across this before

I basically want to learn more becouse I have read that you can create a dsb with fine particles in less depth.

If anyone can give me some great links on this or solid advise on this matter I have seen some of the past forums but I didn't find info that I havn't heard before

thank you very good resources :) on the dsb I'm still not sure what the smell is

i'm thinking it may be detritous pockets growing under the rocks but I'm not sure

Go to reefcentral.com. They live on the DSB over there. I tried it in my 55 with little success, but my nitrates plumetted when I put macro down in my sump with a 6500K twisty PC light from home depot. I probably didn't do the bed quite right, though. I hate fine sand.