inTank Media Baskets

Id Please

BttrFlyKzz

Hey everyone any help on this would be greatly appreciated! I have found both of the items in the pics. below attached to my yellow polyps rock... I know that I have seen a thread about one of the things but I can't seem to find it... Here is the first item. It is tall and has what I like to call a "fan" shaped tip. Its coloring is light brown and I have found several on this rock.

Next pic. I am calling it some sort of tank cactus because that is what it reminds me of. It is green and firm to touch (2 seen in pic. below). Hopefully the pic. below will help someone ID for me! If the items listed are bad or need removed please let me know... Yep I am a newbie and want to make sure I am doing this right! Thanks for all the help and expert wisdom!

agreed ... first pic looks like feather duster... fan will open and close continously.... its a filter feeder and eats phytoplankton... some grow pretty big.

second pic looks like halimeda macroalgae... also called the money plant.... i have lots growing on my live rock... it requires large amounts of calcium to flourish... thus leaching it out of your tank water... you may want to check your calcium levels regularly... if you arent dosing calcium, frequent water changes will be very important. you might want to do a google search on the stuff - pretty interesting marine plant... its dead leaves become the substrate of many coral reefs.

welcome to reefing.

Dave ESPI,

I dont know who you are...or more importantly who you think you are, but BttrFlyKzz asked two appropriate questions for an Identificaiton Forum. She is new to reefing and using the forum for its stated purpose - "What the heck is that thing? Seek identification help here!"

Your response is inappropriate and if other people on this board are afraid to tell you so... I am not. The thread is over when its over... and not when you say its over.