Cultivated Reef

New setup

EddieW

Bit of a newbie here - I have been keeping FW for a while and everything has settled into a nice easy routine - water changes, cleaning, testing, etc. Managed to get guppies to breed (probably harder gettign them not to breed :) ) but also managed with dwarf cichlids.

So I decided I needed a new challenge. After having a look around and doing my research I decided to try a nano reef tank. Spent a lot of time lurking around on here and other forums to find out what I needed to know and eventually felt that the timw was right to take the plunge. Biggest problem was that a lot of the equipment mentioned on the forum is either not available in the UK or is exorbitantly priced, so I have had to make some compromises at the moment which can be changed at a later date.

Over the weekend I stripped down a FW community tank and throughly cleaned it out. I refilled with FW and left the filters running overnight and then cleaned it out again. Set up the plumbing the way I wanted it and fitted the new lighting. Filled with RO water and added 3/4 of the salt I think it will need (LFS had no hydro so I am waiting for one on back order) and left it to run to check temp.

Thought I would post a pic showing the basic set up before I start adding LR and LS.

Tank is a FLuval Duo 600 - 24 x 14 x 14, approx 20 gal. Standard hood (2 x 15w NO) replaced with ASL T5 Aluminium Overtank lighting with 2 x 36w T5s. Circulation is currently with 2 Fluval 104 external filters with no media in the baskets, a powerhead is going to be added (I will hopefully be adding a wave maker at a later date).

Planning to add 6kg of live rock once I have checked the salinity - hopefully at the weekend but it will have to wait until the hydro arrives :(

Cheers, Eddie

If you have EVER used copper to treat disease in that tank, you can't use it. Just an FYI.