Top Shelf Aquatics

koralia (nano or 1) or maxi jet?

louie101086

I am totally new to nano reefs but after seeing one the other day at a LFS I must have one. I am new to salt tanks but no stranger to research. Everywhere I have looked for info on which is better a powerhead or koralia most people just post what they use. I am currently stuck choosing between the 3 any comments or advice would be great. I also want to hear from someone who has used both and to tell me which he or she prefers and why.

:welcome:

I would think a pair of koralia nanos would do well in your tank. One on each opposite side. Only one powerhead may not fill all dead spots. The koralia is far ahead of any pump like the maxi jet since it is random flow and not a jet of water.

I would think a pair of koralia nanos would do well in your tank. One on each opposite side. Only one powerhead may not fill all dead spots. The koralia is far ahead of any pump like the maxi jet since it is random flow and not a jet of water.

Can't afford 2 koralias yet that's why I was considering the koralia #1

Well, it's not random.

I know what you mean as far as cash goes,

I have a 29 gallon biocube and was recommended to me

just to use one korlia 1, i suppose two nano's would be ideal however.

As far as pumps its been recommended to get a rio pump,

Last night my friends older maxi-jet S**t out on him,

with no explanation as to why, IMO the rio is the better bet

However im speaking as far as a 29 gallon goes, not experienced enough yet to know if the 10g and 29g would have drastic hardware reqs

Well I just found nano for $17 will also check ebay and if I buy 2 where do I place them do I put them on the sides facin each other or one on the back and other on side

Well, it's not random.

Its also not a strong directed jet. Koralias probably simulate reef conditions better in the sense that you get a broad flow is put about the corals, rather than a concentrated force. :)