ReefCleaners.org

starting up please help

benstayman

hiya people, im just starting out on marines and i would like some help, iv looked round the place and i know what most things i would like to get so far i have:

eheim wet/dry filter

sea clone skimmer

50 gall tank

need help on lighting!!!

any help on wot a sump is would be helpful 2, i did ask my local marine store and all i got was its just a place to mix up ur water ready for the tank.

And also if these fish would be ok 2gether:

golden butterfly

2x yellow banded marron clowns

a bubbletip anenome

maybe a copperband butterfly

a sailfin tang

a regal tang or a yellow tang

could you please help it would be gr8!

:D

First this is a forum for Nano Reefs that means tanks 29g and under.

Second, No tangs in any tank under 75g, it will not give it a good life, they swim feverishly in the wild, from REEF TO REEF, so I would think it inhumane to keep it in a tank under 75g at LEAST.

For lighting a Single 250w MH and a Actinic light will provide proper balance and give all the light you will need, note that a 250w MH and a 3x96w PC arent even close a MH is much better for a reef.

I also have one question for you; Is your tank going to be a reef or FOWLR (fish only with live rock)

uhoh, I sense the what is nano debate again.

phish, it is perfectly ok to put a tang or two in a smaller tank, provided you have an exit strategy when the tang gets bigger.

Yeah, I know that crak, but I dont think he has one, (or will) I dont know of his financial status, but yours must be good to have a 180g!!

Hey if you dont mind, could ya tell me what you keep in there crak.

Wait, so how many gallons is your tank, if its less than 75 us Gallons then there is no way you could keep any tang in the tank (unless you have a much bigger one for later)

im confused now thx hehe, its just a rough estimate on the gallons the tank im getting is 3ftx1.5ftx1.5ft how many gallons is that i US