Coral Vue Hydros

Tuning a Protein Skimmer

Nick's Reef

Ok this may sound like a noob questions and I'm getting really frustrated. I got a noname hob skimmer from scottyreef today. I put it my ap24 and turned it on. I got bubbles just barely spewing over into the collection cup. But also there seems to be alot of water in the collecton cup. I played with the venturi a bit and either there isn't enough air or it's perfect like now. There is also a ball valve on the pump. I'm going to play with this next put it's very hard to turn so I have to unplug the skimmer and take off the pump and turn it with a pair of pliers. I think I may have gotten it right but I'll have to check that I haven't overflowed the collection cup with water. I've never had a skimmer before so I'm new to the whole thing. I've helpped my dad tune his Red Sea berlin turbo but the only thing I had to adjust on his was the venturis. I know this skimmer can pull some gunk out since when I got it it had dried skimmate in the neck on the cup.

Any help is greatly apperciated! :)

well, i played with it somemore and got it to where not as much water was coming into the cup but there after an hour it's maybe 1/8 full an it has a huge collection cup.

HecticDialectics

sounds like you're on the right track...

you don't want the break level where the bubbles pop right at the top of the neck unless you want very wet skimmate. Just keep lowering it till it looks good. It depends a lot on the skimmer too. On some skimmers, you can adjust input flow, output flow, and air level until the skimmate looks nice n yummy.

sounds like you're on the right track...

you don't want the break level where the bubbles pop right at the top of the neck unless you want very wet skimmate. Just keep lowering it till it looks good. It depends a lot on the skimmer too. On some skimmers, you can adjust input flow, output flow, and air level until the skimmate looks nice n yummy.