ReefCleaners.org

charcoal in filter yes/no?

wwc

Hello world,

I have been running a 20 gallon reef tank for several months. I generally have a good system going -

about 25 lbs of live rock,

non animal thingies - 4 patches of zooanthids, 4 patches of mushrooms, a finger leather, a candycane (small), and a torch that is growing quite well. Ohh! and some bright orange sun polyps that I bought before I knew what they were and the LFS didn't tell how care intensive they are.....

animal type thingies - tomato clown, a royal gramma, 1 peppermint shrimp, 4-7 snails, and somewhere between 6 and 10 hermit crabs.....

On the mechanical side I am running 2 power heads and 1 baby power head for water movement and have a corallife 130 watt light on timers.....

I change 20% water weekly or maybe 10% every 3 days and sometimes dose with iodine, buffered calcium and mineral supplements lightly.

With all that general description said, I also run an outside filter just to filter the water. I have am having a slowly developing algae problem on my rocks and first tried an emerald crab - and the sucker seemed to have just crawled in the rocks and died.java script:smilie(':(')

java script:smilie(':(')

So I was thinking about adding a charcoal bag to my filter to help absorb out the stuff the algae would like - the ammonia and nitrate stuff. But somewhere on this board I could have sworn that I read that charcoal in a filter for a reef tank was a bad thing.

(I did do a forum search for the word charcoal and didn't see any dedicated discussion on this topic, though some people mentioned using charcoal occasionally to polish the water.)

Comments on charcoal please?

P.S. I have also been trying take some good digital pix of my tank w/ my g4. But I have not figured out the settings that seem to take a nice pix of the whole tank, it always seems to be washed out - any suggestions on that minor item?

thanks - wwc