Top Shelf Aquatics

50/50 RO AND TAP WATER WITH CONDITIONER

marinetanker

HI,

IM NEW TO MARINE TANKS AND ON SUNDAY I SET UP MY NANO REEF AQUARIUM, I STARTED BY ADDING 50% RO WATER, THEN I USED TAP WATER FOR THE OTHER 50% AND I USED PRIME TO CONDITION IT.

WAS THIS A BAD IDEA, I CANT FIND ANYTHING ANYWHERE TO SAY THAT YOU CANT OR SHOULDNT.

ANY HELP WILL BE GREAT, THANKS

You'll be fine. Just don't do it anymore. The only reliable method of removing phosphates and other nasties that are toxic to corals and great for nuisance algae is RO or distilling.

if you cant find anything anywhere its because you didnt look hard enough... there tons of info about using tap water... in most cases its not a good idea due to TDS being high and other stuff being in the water...

if you cant find anything anywhere its because you didnt look hard enough... there tons of info about using tap water... in most cases its not a good idea due to TDS being high and other stuff being in the water...

but it does not raise any harness or anything, im not putting any livestock in for atleast 4 weeks and im also going to be using ro for the rest of the time.

you're fine, no biggie. Just use RO in the future. If I were in an emergency, tap would have to do. It is the prolonged usage that leads to issues.

RO from now on, good luck with the tank.

you're fine, no biggie. Just use RO in the future. If I were in an emergency, tap would have to do. It is the prolonged usage that leads to issues.

RO from now on, good luck with the tank.

yeah diffinately will do, thanks for the luck, ill share some with u lol