Coral Vue Hydros

plans for a DIY 10 g canopy?

junglejim83

I just started my setup, i was wondering if anyone had some plans or at least general guideline on what i need and how to build a canopy for a 10 gal tank.  Also, what lighting would be good, i would like to eventually keep coral.  I am a student so I would like to keep the cost down. Any info is appreciated

I built my canopy for about 20 bucks. Used 1st grade pine. Heres what you need:

Front (x1) 6 x 21 3/4

Sides (x2) 6 x 10 1/4

Back  (x1) 2 x 10 1/4

Top (x4) 3 x 20 1/4

The front is a flush board, what I maen by that is it's the only borad you see. The sides sit inside the front then the back sits inside the sides. hard to explain but if you draw it all out using the dimensions I gave you you'll see.

I use "L" brackets to keep the hood on the tank. and feed and dose from the back since there is a 3" gap in the back due to the back board being so small. I am able to mount my ballast on the back board outside the hood. The space in the back also disapates the heat. I painted the hood black and have a black stand which I bought. You can also decorate the hood a bit more. I have some flowered molding that I added which gives it a nice touch.

As far as lights I run 2x36W PC's a 6500K and an actinic bulb. The  both mount very nicely in the hood, and as I said the ballast does too.

Total cost:

Wood: aprox $12.00 (Home Depot)

Sandpaper, brackets, hardware etc.: $10.00 (Home Depot)

Lighting Kit 2x36w ballast and hardware: $64.99 (AHSupply.com)

6400K bulb: $13.99 (AHSupply.com)

Blue actinic bulb: $17.99 (AHSupply.com)

Grand total: Hood and Lights $120 Pretty reasonable.