Innovative Marine Aquariums

MH HELP built custom hood now need help

Chrash236

It seem I always have a dumb question for all of you, I built a custom hood and stand for my new tank (pics coming soon) and now I am on to the lighting, I know that I want to be able to keep anything that I want in this tank, and budget is really no matter as I only want the best. I have contacted a couple of people about lighting, but I wanted to come and ask the experts.

The tank—The new tank I am setting up is a 20-gallon high, with a 10-gallon sump. I will have 40 LBS of live rock and 20 LBS of live sand in the tank, Also the tank will house a custom sea life chiller that is able to bring the tank down to 55 degrees if I wanted it to. So heat is not an issue for me.

My question is since this is my first attempt at a solid reef only; I will not have any fish in this tank, due to already having twenty fish in my house. I want something that is very colorful and pretty.

So what would you all pick out for your ultimate system of lighting? That is do able!!!

The hood interior is 25-inches long, 15-inches wide, and 8-inches high. It also houses two 3.25-inch fans that pull heat out.

That's Easy. A 250w MH HQI (if you can find a UV sheild) 12k or 14K MH with 2x75 watt VHO Actinic. Or since you have a Chiller You might as well go with a 400 watt MH and just acclimate your Corals very slowly.

Question wouldn't a UV sheild just be temper glass?

I have heard that VHO light isn't as good a power compact, does anyone feel different!

The link you gave me was good I will wait and see what else is said, thanks Jahkaya for the advice.