Innovative Marine Aquariums

RO/DI water

Goonter

Alright, i bought a system, hooked it up, it is putting out 0 ppm water, is this safe to use in the aquarium? I know sounds like a stupid question, but i am used to running to walmart for water and i am getting sick of this algae i have. Also, is RO/DI water better than Distilled? because i have been using distilled for the past 2 months and it has gotten rid of 99.99% of my cyanobacteria, but now i have GHA or byopsis (unsure which) going like crazy and i am wondering if it is a water problem also?

It's the best and the safest! Make sure to discard the first 5-10 gallons. I don't know why but that's what they say.

The GHA could possibly be from the water or from overfeeding, the two main causes. Without more info it's hard to say.

noob ro/di question

is it normal for the ro/di water that just came out of the unit thats been sitting overnight to read 20ppm+

i had to leave the unit running for around 5-10 mins before it reads 0.

if its normal, then for people with a holding tank plumbed into their system...how do they keep the tds in the water reading 0 if the water in the unit is turned off because the tank is full and the water has been sitting in the unit overnight?

noob ro/di question

is it normal for the ro/di water that just came out of the unit thats been sitting overnight to read 20ppm+

i had to leave the unit running for around 5-10 mins before it reads 0.

if its normal, then for people with a holding tank plumbed into their system...how do they keep the tds in the water reading 0 if the water in the unit is turned off because the tank is full and the water has been sitting in the unit overnight?

Yes, it is normal and it's called TDS creep - http://www.airwaterice.com/category/.z.merlin/