Pod Your Reef

Eclipse 6 New Nano

BttrFlyKzz

Hey everyone,

I am just starting out and just starting to set up a new tank.

Currently, I am planning on using my Eclipse 6 tank- due to not a lot of room. I am planning on getting reef sand for the bottom- the size is 1-1.7mm. What do you think or do you have any better recommendations? Also, what about live sand? And about how much sand live or not live sand is needed?

I have read a lot about cured and not cured live rock. What is the best to start with when it comes to a new tank? And how many pounds of live rock would be good for my tank?

I am also wondering what the best salt to use is- I was going to get Instant Ocean but it is a huge box and I was unsure how much to buy.

And finally, does anyone know where the best place to order stuff for tanks is online?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Angie

My Goodness, Angie. Do you have some reading to do.

That size sand is fine. There are many debates about Deep Sand beds. I like to keep mine in my fuge, but in your case 2-3 inches (10-15 LBS). Live sand is good but necessary. Your live rock will seed the dead stuff.

I like Uncured rock as it provides more diverse life, but your cycle will take longer. I also like less rock 5-10 pounds should be good. keep in mind many corals come attached to rock.

The Best salt is yet another debate. Many use Instant ocean without problem, as I do, but another great salt is Bio Assay, but I can't remeber the rest. Ask Dave ESPI for the name of the salt., But beware of Sarcasm and do not take answers personally.

Get the 25lb box. It should last for a while.

For Ordering stuff Just look at the sponsors on this site or on Reef Central. There are hundreds.

I am not quite sure why you say I have some reading to do... I have read for several weeks online and I have read a book about salt water aquariums too. Yes, I am new to this hobby but I figured asking questions was the best way to start out! I do thank you for your advice.