Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Low Alkalinity in new Nano

quixand

For the past two weeks that I've been testing my Alk, it's reading 0-1.6. While my Calcium is resting nicely around 490 ppm.

Ph stays at 8.4 solid thanks to the Chaeto

Nitrites 0

Nitrates >5 ppm

Ammonia 0

Salinity 1.025

The tank is a 15g nano with a 10g sump. Up for 1 month

15 # cured live rock ( from established tank )

15 # Arag-Alive Fiji Pink Sand

5 # same LR in Sump

5 # same sand in fuge

Chaeto in fuge, opposite light cycle of DT.

Tank currently only houses Xenia, Capanella, Yellow Polyps, Hammer Coral.

Is my Alk normal for the tanks age? Do I need to raise it asap? Thoughts?

My Alk is 9.5 and my new mini is right at 4 weeks old. That level seems really low however i am very new to this hobby. Did the tank go thru a complete cycle?

What kind of salt are you using (oceanic?) ? Have you tested your make-up water to see what your Alk starts at? I assume you are not dosing anything but just wanted to ask.

Sounds like Mg might be off....you should check it...but I will tell you I had to dose Alk right from the beginning of my tank start up..still do at about 10 - 20 ml a day....

Currently using what's left of a bucket of Aquatic Gardens Premium Marine Salt Mix.

Which....incidently...tests 0-1.6 with fresh mixed salt. :huh:

Using Red Sea Marine Lab for all my testing.

Just to make sure my tests weren't completely fubared, I added Baking Soda to the test, and the color spiked.

So....my guess is, I should get a new salt manufacturer?

A buddy of mine who got me into reef keeping uses this, and told me it was great.

Sctn4Elk,

Your puppy is so freaking cute.

How do you dose? Standard two-part?

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-02/rhf/index.php

?

Can't say I know anything about that salt but there are certainly other choices that would give you a higher starting point for Alk. Ca of 490 is pretty impressive though, bordering on high.