inTank Media Baskets

30-35 TDS

khill13

i searched high and low on this site and never found an answer, so hopefully you might be able to help me out. I just had our R/O (no D/I) water tested and it read 32 TDS. All that i have read say it should be 0 or as close as possible. i have been using this water for 4+ months with no adverse affects, in fact my livestock seems to be doing great (multiplying). Any reason why i can't keep using it? THANKS, Patrck

i searched high and low on this site and never found an answer, so hopefully you might be able to help me out. I just had our R/O (no D/I) water tested and it read 32 TDS. All that i have read say it should be 0 or as close as possible. i have been using this water for 4+ months with no adverse affects, in fact my livestock seems to be doing great (multiplying). Any reason why i can't keep using it? THANKS, Patrck

You should not keep using it because you don't know what those 32 parts are. Could be copper, chlorine, phosphate etc. These things can accumulate in your tank and although they won't cause a problem initially it could be detrimental in the future. I never put water in my tank greater than 0 ppm.

Where are you getting your R/O water? If it is from your own unit, it may have been 0 to start out with and is slowly getting worse. You probably need to change the filters. If you're getting it from the store, this is pretty typical and you'll probably be fine as long as your not trying to do SPS or clams.

I used R/O water from the grocery store for a year and it was never zero. However algae was always an issue. I'm glad I have my own unit now.

the R/O water is coming from my work. It is a system that has been set up for about 6 mos. It supposed to be a really nice unit made by kenetico. It doesn't get used very often except the 6 gallons i take a week. i am not doing any sps or clams just softs and lps. what do you think? It is pretty convenient.