Cultivated Reef

ignorance is bliss

audi206rs4

the more i read, the more confused i am...

i'm fairly new to the hobby and i'm learning that it's information overload, which is fine, but... so much of the info is contradictive.

i swear!

1). live sand is good, live sand is bad. well... which is it? well i went with about 13lbs. of ls (12lbs. in my 10 gal. w/ 1lb. in my 2.5 fuge/sump). so i hope i made the right decision...

2). do i put the the live rock in first and surround it with ls or vice versa? i heard that you should put the rock in first and have the sand support it's base. but then again that would cause dead spots in the tank and that brings us right back to number 1). should i have ls at all? then i've heard that you should put the lr on top of the ls so that the sand shifter, detritis eaters can shift through the sand below the lr. well... which is it? hmmm...

3). anenome or not in my 10 gal. i've heard that some species split and i can just keep giving/selling those away and that it would stay relatively small and be okay in my 10 gal. tank... i'm actually leaning towards not getting one just to be safe, but they look so cool.

so where i'm going with it?

thanks guys and gals!!!

please help!!!

1) Live sand is very good. Tons of bacteria aerobic and anaerobic (i'll get to that in a second). Yes, you made a good decision. You would be fine with whatever sand you bought but live sand has numerous advantages over dry stuff.