Innovative Marine Aquariums

I need detailed instructions on how to

lizbeth

I have a float switch from mcmastercarr. I  have an extension cord. What kind of pump do I need? And how do I put it together? Pictures would help.

Remember, keep it clear and simple I'm a gurl. ;)

NanoReefer53

Here's how I did mine. Get the plastic piece that hangs onto the glass covering. Cut a small section of it and make a hole in it with a knife so the float switch can screw into it. Make another hole so that a airline connecter can snugly fit into it.

A float switch basically turns something on and off by completing the circuit. I got an extension cord and cut one of the 2 wires and attatched the wires from the float switch to it. From there, attatch the pump your using to the extension cord. After that, hang the float switch in, connect all tubing, put pump in sump, and let er rip.

Here's a pic of mine

autotopofffloat.jpg

(Edited by NanoReefer53 at 1:20 pm on June 30, 2002)

Vixyswillie
Quote: from lizbeth on 11:42 am on June 25, 2002[br]I have a float switch from mcmastercarr. I  have an extension cord. What kind of pump do I need? And how do I put it together? Pictures would help.

Remember, keep it clear and simple I'm a gurl. ;)

Well - this isn't simple, but it sure is elegant! :) Check out this link, then look under "What's New" for 6/6/02 and read the details of his auto top-off system. Very nicely done!

http://www.mistressreef.homestead.com/file...ico/bonzai.html

(Edited by Vixyswillie at 5:44 pm on June 25, 2002)

Nano reefer, so you plug the pump into the extension cord? What kind of pump do you use? On the float switchs is the contact point when the float hits the top? I've looked at the thing and can't figure it out.

Vixyswillie, that set up is nice! I wonder what one of those pumps cost?

for my top off I set up an IV drip to a water bottle...no pump so no need for another outlet...if anyone would like to see i can take a pic....it drips into HOB