Coral Vue Hydros

Filter for brand new Nano reef

Nafe!

Hey guys, im very new to the marine reef hobby and im planning my very first reef tank. Currently i have a 15 gallon tank which i plan to use to create a nano reef. My local petstore is having a sale at the moment and they are selling Hagen Fluval filters series 204-404 for a huge price discount. I was wondering if they would be an effective filter for a reef tank and if i did buy one what other filter equipment would require if any. Thanks alot guys your help would really be appreciated.

The simple answer is that you don't need ANY filter in a nano-reef. The only reasons they are used is for water movement, surface agitation and somewhere to put carbon if needed.

All you should need is around 300 gallons per hour of water movement (minimum), some live rock (one to one and a half pounds per gallon), sand (around one pound per gallon) and a clean up crew to keep things clean (snails and hermit crabs). SW and FW are two different animals, you need a good "filter" for a FW tank but your sand/rock/critters are your filter in a reef. If you can get an external filter at a steal, go ahead and get it, just don't put anything in it... use if for your overall water movement.

HTH

Thanks for clearing that up, i had read conflicting information on the subject and was unsure. Some people were saying a type of filter was required and others have said opposite. What exactly do you mean by not putting anything in it? Do you mean carbon etc? One more question are protein skimmers a requirement?

Thanks alot for the help :)

If you put a hang on the back filter like the one you mention, don't put the replaceable cartridges in. Just use it to move water around the tank. Once you have some corals in the tank you may want to start thinking about putting a mesh bag with carbon in it into that filter but to start out just leave it totally empty.