ReefCleaners.org

Noob Plumbing Question

Tanque Verde

Tanque Verde

I have no experience with sumps, so please forgive this question:

is it possible to run a return through a bulkhead in the bottom of the tank? I understand that stockman standpipes are used to make outlets possible on the bottom, by preventing power-loss drainage. Is there a comparable system for returns? Are there other prohibitive or undesireable considerations?

Thanks.

If you are going to return through the bottom glass, make sure you either use a very good check valve (don't skimp as it will drain your tank if it fails) or you plumb the return line from the bottom to near the surface to prevent the tank from emptying in the event of a power failure or pump failure.

FWIW, I don't trust check valves. All it takes is a grain of sand wedged in the valve and an hour-long power outage while you are at work, and your tank is toast.

you will need an overflow box, well you don't but it makes it look better, and some pvc adaptors/pipe, then you need to raise it up to water level.

you will need an overflow box, well you don't but it makes it look better, and some pvc adaptors/pipe, then you need to raise it up to water level.

Se habla engles?

Tanque Verde

Thanks for these replies so far.

SPS20, your suggestion of running a pipe up toward the water level is essentially what I was getting at with my question about a return-version of a stockman. So long as I raise a pipe to prevent powerloss drainage, have I covered my bases?

bdare, the closed-loop is my other option.

Essentially, I want to run an "equipmentless" tank with outlet and inlet in the bottom. My first option would be a closed-loop with canister filter, hiding the bulkheads behind rocks (this in emulation of Ninjafish's and Jemram's cubes.) The biggest downside is that ATO gets tricky (both Ninjafish and Jemram ran dosing pumps that were either expensive and/or irregular to the aquarium hobby).