inTank Media Baskets

Setup Help

green_ariel

green_ariel

Hello. I am a noob to saltwater having owned only various FW aquariums. I am hoping to set up a 40 Gallon Breeder or somthing like that. I am only however 16 years old. So price is somwhat as an issue.

First off I do not wish to have a fuge or sump in a seperate tank below. I know it sounds stupid but my mother is like..oh that looks stupid and dirty. So thats Not an option. I dont need help in the Heater, powerheads, or tank areas only filters, skimmers and lights. Although i think I am going to get the 150 W Sunpod Im hoping to find a cheaper one. So if anyone is bored could you make me a list of items. Price range for equiptment would be around 6-700. Thanks alot everyone.

A smaller tank would be another option. Play around a little.

So far I am thinking The tank, Korilla 3, Ac110, random heater.

filefish949

a fuge is optional ...for now, but get a sump, you will be handcuffed without one, the bigger the tank, (up to 60-100 gallons) the easier it is to keep

lakshwadeep

I assume that your "korilla" is referring to Hydor's Koralia powerheads. In that case, you shouldn't get a single Koralia 3 but instead get two or more of the smaller koralias. This is more expensive, but good flow comes from having multiple outlets to randomize the current.

Look at this site below. It is very helpful on price differences between fw and sw.

http://www.fishlore.com/saltwatervsfreshwater.htm

Only difference I would say is that a skimmer is necessary if you're keeping SPS and clams that need high water quality or if you're unwilling to do weekly 10-20% water changes.

green_ariel

I am not keeping SPS or Clams. Also 20% Weekly water changes are not a problem. Do I still need a skimmer. Also Im still not a fan of having to drill holes in a tank. Please help. If nessisary I could Get a smaller Tank

lakshwadeep