Cultivated Reef

PLate Coral doubled in size in a matter of hours!!!

nanonut

I have been having some trouble keeping my TR False Perc Clowns out of my LT PLate Coral. Well today when the two started fighting, I decided to move the coral from the sand up onto some rock which is kind of flat, but bumpy. I felt bad for the coral, it didn't look to good cause the clowns like to bite the tentacles, so I fed it one block of those frozen mysis shrimp. I just got it and have no prior experience directly feeding corals, and this is my only coral. So, I broke the block up into four smaller pieces and stuffed it into the corals mouth one by one. I was afraid that I had given it to much and that it would die, like I said I have never done this before. Anyway, I go to the movies and come back and the coral it twice the size it was in circumference and it tentacles are more extended than they ever were before, since the clowns did nothing but bother it. So do you guys think the plate will be ok on the rocks for a little while or does it have to be on the sand? Did I feed it too much, or the wrong kind of food? and is it normal for this thing to grow so much? The plate part of it looked hard before, now it looks kind of soft as it has expanded. Did I F up or is everything going to be OK? Thanks!

LITTLEFISHEE