Top Shelf Aquatics

10 gal lighting help - Narrowed it down to 2 choices

Toonces

I've read a lot about both the CL aqualight PC 1x96 W quad and the CSL PC with moonlite on here but I can't determine which is better than the other. I know that you have more control over the CSL because of the 3 power cords, and I also like the moonlite, but the CL Quad is stronger and cheaper. I'm very new to the reef game, so I really don't know what I'll want to keep down the road, but I'm sure starting off with soft corals and shrooms and the like will be fine for awhile. But, I don't want to limit myself down the road either! Help!!!

Such a hard choice. Why not let the price or look of the units decide? Does the CS have a built in fan like the aqualight does? That may be something to consider. 96 watts may be hard to look at in a dark room, that would be VERY bright. I just put a 65 watt 24" Aqualight over my ten gallon and it certainly looks sufficient.

Jeff

I would not compare the two. The 96watter is just soooo much more light than the 2x32watt from CSL. Perhaps a DIY 3x36watt fixture is in order...now we have a competition!!!

Originally posted by wetworx101

Perhaps a DIY 3x36watt fixture is in order...now we have a competition!!!

Thats what I'm running. Everything is from

AH Supply (great reflectors!). I was able to

shoehorn a dual 36w reflector and a single

36w reflector for my 10gallon DIY hood.

I've got a 10K, Actinc and a 6500K in there. The

65K is going to be swapped out for a 50/50 next bulb replacment. I'm probably going to see what

(3) 36w 50/50's are like when I place that order.

My next project is to work in an LED moonlight.

greggl, I was curious to see your setup as I have a 2x36watter and had been thinking about upping to a 96w, or even MH's. From your WWW button, what web page is that?!?! I didn't see a link to your nano right off the bat.