SaltCritters.com

Starting a Pico

soundcrd

Hey All

First of all, let me say that I've been looking over the site and I really enjoy all the discussion and everything I've seen. Some of the DIY projects are a little (OK, a lot) over my head, but I hope I can come at least a little close to some of the tanks I've seen here.

So a little background: I graduated from college in August and moved to Corpus Christi in September. Since then I'd kind of wanted to set up a tank, but when my dad brought down some of the crap I had stored at his house, including my two tanks (35g and 60g), I decided I really needed to set up a tank. So I called my apartment's front office to see what their policy on tanks was, and was told that because I lived on the second floor, I couldn't have anything over 5g... :huh::angry::rant:

After cooling down for a little while, I decided that instead of viewing this as a problem, I would see it as an opportunity to dive into the world of picos. I will admit, I am a little hesitant because while I do have some reef experience, it is fairly limited and not entirely successful. I am hoping that with some guidance, though, I can have some better luck.

Anyway, now I need to pick a tank. I was thinking either the JBJ Pico or the Tom Deco 2g. I was also thinking about possibly picking up both and switching the lights, cuz the Pico's seems decent but not great and the Tom's seems extreme. Thoughts on either/both?

Also, so far I haven't been able to find jack in the way of a good pet store here. My LFS seems to have a decent selection of corals and fish, but squat for rock. Any suggestions? If anyone is familiar with the stores in San Antonio, Austin, or Houston, I would appreciate some input.

Thanks in advance for your help and I look forward to the responses.

Hi & Welcome